top of page

This is a list of authors - both historical and contemporary - with many distinct disabilities and illnesses. It is a broad list representing various diverse literary voices. Some of those featured are well-known and famous authors, while others may be more obscure. 

We will continue to expand the list to showcase the breadth and variety of disability literature and disabled authors.

The authors are listed alphabetically and linked to web pages with further information.

Resources pertinent to disabled authors and disability literature are also included below.



Tinu Abayomi-Paul.
Shahd Alshammari.

Raymond Antrobus.

Antonin Artaud.

Andrea Avery.


Manuel Bandeira.

W.N.P. Barbellion.

Khairani Barokka - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).
Jean-Dominique Bauby.

Amy Berkowitz.
Thomas Bernhard.
Sheila Black.

Rachel Bluwstein.

Jorge Luis Borges.

Anne Brontë.

Charlotte Brontë.

Emily Brontë.
Christy Brown.
Keah Brown.

Anatole Broyard.

Lynn Buckle - (Winner of The Barbellion Prize 2021).


John Callahan.
Albert Camus.

Aisha Chaudhary.
Eli Clare.

John Clare.


Emily Dickinson.
Fyodor Dostoyevsky.


Larry Eigner.



Mary Felstiner.

Carly Findlay.
Anne Finger.

Zelda Fitzgerald.

Arthur W. Frank.


Terry Galloway.

Josie George - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Haben Girma.
Sinéad Gleeson.

Lucy Grealy.

Susan Griffin.

Nicola Griffith.

Jan Grue - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Eva Gore-Booth.

Che Guevara.


Jessica Handler.

Alice Hattrick - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Stephen Hawking.

W. E. Henley.

Nydia Hetherington.

Judith Heumann - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).
John Hockenberry.
Sheila Hocken.

Hannah Hodgson.

Sonya Huber.


Cyree Jarelle Johnson.

Harriet McBryde Johnson.

James Joyce.


Franz Kafka.

Paul Kalanithi.
John Keats.
Helen Keller.
Porochista Khakpour.

Karl Knights.

Stephen Kuusisto.


Laura Laakso - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).

Thomas Larson.

Jane Lazzare.

Amanda Leduc - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).

Riva Lehrer - (Winner of The Barbellion Prize 2020).

Joanne Limburg.

Joselin Linder.

Ulla-Carin Lindquist. 

Jean Little.

Audre Lorde.
Raymond Luczak.


Nancy Mairs.

Sarah Manguso.
Katherine Mansfield.
Ben Mattlin.

Jarred McGinnis - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Sam Mills - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).


Kazi Nazrul Islam.

Friedrich Nietzsche.
Christopher Nolan.

Abby Norman.


Mark O'Brien.

Mary Flannery O'Connor.

Kaite O'Reilly.

George Orwell.


Abi Palmer - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).

Amit Patel - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).

Eli Percy - (Shortlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Lucia Perillo.

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha.

Claudia Piñeiro - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2021).

Sylvia Plath.

Patricia Polacco.

Alexander Pope.

Robert M. Prisig.


Emily Rapp Black.

Lisa Roney.

A.H. Reaume.

Frances Ryan.


Elizabeth Scarboro.

Amy Sequenzia.
Tom Shakespeare.

Taras Shevchenko.

Masaoka Shiki.

Floyd Skloot.
Manès Sperber.

Robert Louis Stevenson.

Jeneva Burroughs Stone.

Eliza Suggs.
Rosemary Sutcliff.


Suryakant Tripathi.


Anna Vaught - (Longlisted for The Barbellion Prize 2020).

O.V. Vijayan.


Esmé Weijun Wang.

Simone Weil.

Jillian Weise.

Virginia Woolf.


Crip Lit:

Tom Shakespeare:

Q&A from 'The Handy, Uncapped Pen' with Barbellion Prize founder Jake Goldsmith:

Disability Visibility Project:

The Society of Authors - Authors with a Disability or Chronic Illness:

The Complete Works of W.N.P. Barbellion:

The Jhalak Prize:

The Republic of Consciousness Prize:


bottom of page